Hey y’all! My name is Alice Byrd and I am junior at Gardner-Webb University.  I am from Asheville, North Carolina, where I was born and raised. As an only child, I spent a lot of time with my parents and with friends, but I still had a lot of free time to fill on my own. One of my earliest memories is picking out movies and cartoons to rent from our local Blockbuster store, which (sadly!) is now a relic of the past. Film and TV shows have always been a big part of my life – movies are an excellent way to pass the time, and my favorites often keep me company while they play in the background as I clean my room or do homework. These include (but are certainly not limited to) The Princess BrideTalladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby, and The Terminal. Yes, I can quote most of these movies by heart.

Needless to say, film has been a familiar medium to me for a long time. I love all types of movies – from artsy, indie “think” pieces, to blockbuster hits, superhero adventures, and horror flicks, I will watch just about anything. Movies are a common ground between all types of people, and that’s another reason why I love film. Some of my best memories with my best friends are the times we’ve gotten together and had movie nights. From high school to college and beyond, film has brought people in my life together and created a shared experience that is unparalleled. Movies are about speaking a common language with individuals that gets you laughing, arguing, or interested in watching something else, in a way that few other topics do.

Alright, now that all the serious stuff is out of the way – I’ll let y’all in on a secret. I am a HUGE Pirates of the Caribbean fan! I remember watching the first movie with my aunt, way back when, and the scene that stuck with me the most was when the pirates are walking underwater to board the ship and they’re complete skeletons. That was so freaky, yet so fitting with the story, that I was hooked. I don’t know wether it was the swashbuckling action and adventure, Johnny Depp and Keira Knightley, or the killer soundtrack that got me! On the opposite side of things, I’m also a huge Back to the Future fan. Those movies never get old to me!

Back to the Future Meme

I am so excited to see what this class holds this semester! Oh,  about the picture – I spent a month in Italy this summer and found random graffiti on random ruins of an old castle in the hill town of Orvieto that spelled my name – thought it was too funny not to include on my intro post!

Leave a Reply

